Frenship High School honors top ten

Steve Burleson, Frenship assistant superintendent, presents sophomore Molly He with an academic award of excellence Monday at the City Bank Conference Room in the United Spirit Arena. (Photo by Luke Backus)Overview

Frenship ISD hosted its ninth annual Superintendent’s Academic Excellence Awards Banquet at 6 p.m. Monday at the United Spirit Arena.

State representative Carl Isett was the guest speaker at the event. He urged the students to be creative and explore their talents.

Awards were given based on the top 10 rankings of students through the fifth six weeks of the school year.


Valedictorian: Lasey Ashburn

Salutatorian: Maggie Mulcahy

Sophomore recipients: David Baker, Alec Birchfield, Holly Cooke, Molly He, Kaulie Lewis, Rachel Linton, Sarah Miller, Alyssa Pamintuan, Dylan Ross, Ashleigh Williams.

Junior recipients: Risse Ashburn, Bailey Bartholomew, Russ DeLoach, Rebecca Freeman, Kayla Howard, Alisha Kluzek, Meagan Low, Jedidiah Mannon, Meagan Morrison, Taylor Warmoth.

Senior recipients: Lasey Ashburn, Sarah Huatek, Nadia Jiminez, Jaymes Montague, Maggie Mulcahy, Sarah Qureshi, Kinsey Speed, Claire Valdez, Briana Vela Saxton Washburn.

They said it

“We are always proud of our daughter,” said Gilbert Jiminez, father of Nadia Jiminez. “We have been to this banquet the past three years, but it never gets old.”

“Carl Isett was fabulous,” said Kaylene Morrison, mother of Meagan Morrison. “I like how he made reference to the Declaration of Independence. He was very positive. I am very proud of her (Meagan). She has always made me proud.”

“It is sad that this is the last Frenship banquet we will be coming too,” said Sarah Vela, sister of Briana Vela.

You must be logged in to post a comment.